Friends of the Cancer Centre’s Scholarship Winners for 2022

Friends of the Cancer Centre has recently awarded its prestigious scholarships for 2022.

The scholarships, named in memory of former colleagues who were themselves dedicated to personal development in aid of enhancing patient care, are open to staff members across cancer services in Northern Ireland. The scholarships are available to contribute towards a training or educational course or travel. Awards are given to those who the charity’s scholarships panel deem to have the most potential impact on patients receiving treatment for cancer.

Professor Joe O’Sullivan, chair of the Scholarship Panel, presents this year’s winners with their awards. From left Dr Claire Rooney, Sarah McGuckin and Dr Caitlin Rice.

The Dr Gary McGowan Scholarship is open to oncology trainees and this year it is awarded to Dr Claire Rooney. The scholarship will enable Claire to undertake a fellowship in head and neck cancer at the Princes Margaret Hospital in Toronto, Canada. 

The Pamela Lutton Scholarship is open to therapy radiographers and this year’s winner is Sarah McGuckin. Sarah’s scholarship will enable her to undertake a postgraduate module in image guide radiotherapy. 

The Pearl Ewing Scholarship is named after a former trustee of the charity and is open to any healthcare professional working in cancer services. This year’s winner is Dr Caitlin Rice, who will use the scholarship to undertake a specialist fellowship in laboratory haematology at the Royal Perth Hospital in Australia.

Friends of the Cancer Centre’s scholarship panel would like to thank all those who applied for this year’s awards and commend all applicants for the extremely high standard of applications.

More news...

Click to access the login or register cheese